About Joshua’s  Law

“Joshua’s Law” was passed and enacted January 1, 2007.  This law requires all 16 year olds applying for a Class D driver’s license to complete an approved driver education course and complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night by a parent or guardian. Any Georgia resident who has not completed an approved driver education course must be at least 17 years old to be eligible for a Class D driver’s license. He or she must have completed a total of at least 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least 6 hours at night. In both instances, written verification is required by a parent or guardian.

FAQs

Q:  What if my child has turned 17? 

A:  Teens that have reached the age of 17 is required to have 40 hours of supervised driving by a parent or guardian.  Six hours must be completed at night.

Q:  Is the Wiser Driver a state/DDS certified school? 

A.  Yes

Q. Am I eligible for an insurance reduction of my child completes a state approved driver’s education course?

A.  Only a Certificate of Completion from a State Licensed School providing 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours behind the wheel instruction would be eligible for a reduction in insurance premiums.

Q. What form of Joshua’s Law do you perform at the Wiser Driver? 

A.   The Wiser Driver Joshua’s Law program includes:   7 hours of behind the wheel lessons,  an online 30 hour state certified driver’s education course, an in-class defensive driver’s course (optional), free pickup and drop off..  All of our instruction is conducted on a one on one basis.

Q.  Do I get a tax credit after my child completes the training? 

A.  Yes, a $150 Tax Credit will be provided. Georgia law includes a provision that the parent or guardian of a minor who takes and passes an approved Driver Education Class receives a tax credit equal to the cost of the course or $150, whichever is less

 

 

 

 

.

We Have Excellent Reviews