Studies show that teenagers have a higher risk of getting into car accidents. It has been established that approximately 25 percent of teen drivers either receive tickets or are involved in car crashes which leave them seriously injured or dead.  Due to the seriousness of this problem, Georgia in 1997 enacted the Teen and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA). This act consists of laws that are designed to address the issue of teen crashes.

One of the major laws that was enacted in this act is the Georgia Graduated Driver’s License Law. This law was designed to help teenagers fully understand the risk involved in driving and prepare them for the challenges they might encounter on the road.

Another law enacted under TADRA is the Joshua Law. Enacted in 2007, this law changed the driver’s license requirement for teen drivers. This law was named after Joshua Brown who died in a car accident in 2003. This caused an outcry from parents who then joined the legislators in an effort to create stronger driver training laws.

TADRA is a system that gives teenagers between the ages of 15 and 18 driver’s licenses with a high level of restrictions. These restrictions reduce as the teenager gains more driving experience. Some of these restrictions include limitations on the number of passengers you can have in the car at a time and time of the day you can drive. A teen driver must fulfill all requirements to obtain the Georgia driver’s license.

The licensing process is divided into three steps that allow teenagers gain more experience behind the wheel, and they are:

  1. The Learner’s Permit
  2. The Intermediate License (Class D)
  3. The Full License (Class C)

The Learner’s Permit

The Learner’s Permit, also known as the Instructional Permit is given to any 15-year-old that successfully passes the written examination. In order to pass this test, it is recommended you study hard and practice the Georgia Learner’s Test. At this phase, the driver would always be accompanied by a passenger who is over 21 years of age and has a valid Class C License. During this stage, you’ll also be required to complete the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program and a driver’s education class. The upcoming driver must complete 40 hours of supervised driving and must have held the permit for at least a year and a day before applying for the next phase.

The Intermediate License (Class D)

Provided you completed the driver’s education program and you are 16 years old, you’re eligible for the Intermediate License. The license allows you to drive without supervision but comes with its own restrictions. Some of these restrictions are:

  • No driving between midnight and 6am.
  • Only family members are allowed as passengers for the first 6 months.
  • After the first 6 months, only one passenger below the age of 21 can be allowed with the driver.

Before applying for the next phase, the driver must not have traffic convictions during the first 12 months. You must also be 18 before you can apply for the final stage.

The Full License (Class C)

At the age of 18, you can get your Full License. At this stage all restrictions will be lifted and you can drive like a master of the road.

In Georgia, driver’s education is very important and making sure teens are safe while driving is a priority.  Getting a Georgia Driver’s License should be straightforward as long as you follow the outlined steps.

The Wiser Driver Driving School can assist teen drivers in reducing or eliminating high first year risks of driving by providing professional and comprehensive instruction behind the wheel (BTW). Our teen driving programs consist of in-class and online driver education, defensive driver classes, and thorough driving lessons.